IMG_20141123_150451

This is a simple granny square using the join-as-you-go, and I added a ruffle edging.  The whole thing measures 24×32 which is a bit smaller than I like, but still suitable for a newborn blanket.

This pattern is pretty close to what I did.

I did a sc round to start the edging, putting 3 sc in each corner stitch.  The ruffle is just alternating 3dc in one stitch, then 2 dc in the next stitch, corners are 3dc, ch3, 3dc in the middle sc of the corner. The last round of the edge is just sc in each stitch and 3sc in each corner ch 3 space.

If I had it to do over I would make the ruffle less Spanish Dancer-y by doing 3dc in next stitch, 2 dc in each of the next two stitches, repeating that.  It would still be a pretty ruffle, only not too frilly.

The yarn is I Love This Yarn (100% acrylic, worsted weight) from Hobby Lobby.  The colors are Pink Cheeks and Ivory and I used an I hook.

IMG_20141123_150440

This page has a bunch of ways to join granny squares.   I’ve used some of them, can’t wait to try some more!

